Return to Headlines

Bachmeier Receives District's Administrative Staff of the Year Award

West Fargo, ND – (March 30, 2022) – Surrounded by colleagues, friends, and family at a surprise ceremony this morning, a West Fargo Public Schools’ assistant principal was honored with the district’s prestigious staff award. Rachel Bachmeier, an assistant principal at West Fargo High School, was awarded the 2022 – 2023 Administrative Staff of the Year Award.

Ms. Bachmeier began her career in education as a middle school language arts teacher at South Dakota’s Rosebud Indian Reservation from 2012 – 2015. She spent one year as a social studies teacher at McAuliffe International School in Denver, Colorado before accepting a position as an English Learner social studies teacher at West Fargo High School in 2016. From 2018 – 2020, she was the dean of students at West Fargo High School before accepting the position as one of the school’s assistant principals in 2020. She was recently announced as the next principal for West Fargo High School, effective July 1, 2022.

Ms. Bachmeier holds a bachelor’s degree in history from Ohio’s Marietta College and a master’s degree in educational administration from the University of South Dakota. She also served as a leadership instructor at the Phillips Exeter Academy in New Hampshire for two years and is a 2012 Teach for America alumna.

As this year’s award winner, Ms. Bachmeier was described in her nomination as being “passionate about having a school where students are known and valued and actively encourages staff to make their classrooms great spaces for all students.”

As the Administrative Staff of the Year honoree, Mrs. Bachmeier receives a crystal apple, flowers, a gift from the district and the School Board, and a $500 check from the West Fargo Educational Foundation. Additionally, she will be an honoree at the district’s recognition party on Monday, May 23 at Heritage Middle School.


Every year, West Fargo Public Schools recognizes three district employees with a Staff of the Year Award. Nominees for the award are nominated by colleagues, students, parents, and/or community members through a letter of support highlighting the nominee’s commitment to education, professional development, and dedication to the West Fargo community. Each nominee’s supervisor is then asked to provide a letter indicating their support, and wishes, for the nominee to be selected as the award’s recipient. The program’s selection committee, comprised of community leaders, School Board members, past award recipients, retired and current administrators, selects one nominee to receive the Professional/Licensed Staff of the Year Award, one nominee to receive the Classified Staff of the Year Award, and one nominee to receive the Administrative Staff of the Year Award.

Award winners are announced each spring at a surprise announcement ceremony and are recognized at the district’s annual recognition party.



Stephanie Hansen
(701) 499-1073