Return to Headlines

McTiver Receives District's Classified Staff of the Year Award

West Fargo, ND – (March 30, 2022) – Surrounded by colleagues, friends, and family at a surprise ceremony this morning, a West Fargo Public Schools paraprofessional was honored with the district’s prestigious staff award. Suzanne McTiver, a special education paraprofessional at West Fargo High School, was awarded the 2022 – 2023 Classified Staff of the Year Award.

McTiver began her career with West Fargo Public Schools in 1994 as a paraprofessional at the Early Childhood Center. Shortly thereafter, she transitioned to a paraprofessional role at West Fargo High School, where she has since served as a paraprofessional in the career development center and most recently in the special education program.

As this year’s award winner, Ms. McTiver was described in her nomination as playing “a crucial role in the success of the high school’s emotional disturbance disorder program. She is extremely dedicated to the program and to the students.”

As the Classified Staff of the Year honoree, Ms. McTiver receives a crystal apple, flowers, a gift from the district and the School Board, and a $500 check from the West Fargo Educational Foundation. Additionally, she will be an honoree at the district’s recognition party on Monday, May 23 at Heritage Middle School.


Every year, West Fargo Public Schools recognizes three district employees with a Staff of the Year Award. Nominees for the award are nominated by colleagues, students, parents, and/or community members through a letter of support highlighting the nominee’s commitment to education, professional development, and dedication to the West Fargo community. Each nominee’s supervisor is then asked to provide a letter indicating their support, and wishes, for the nominee to be selected as the award’s recipient. The program’s selection committee, comprised of community leaders, School Board members, past award recipients, retired and current administrators, selects one nominee to receive the Professional/Licensed Staff of the Year Award, one nominee to receive the Classified Staff of the Year Award, and one nominee to receive the Administrative Staff of the Year Award.

Award winners are announced each spring at a surprise announcement ceremony and are recognized at the district’s annual recognition party.



Stephanie Hansen
(701) 499-1073