Return to Headlines

Sheyenne High School Student Congress Claims State Championship

West Fargo, ND – (November 10, 2021) – Sheyenne High School’s student congress returned from the North Dakota High School Activities Association’s State Student Congress with a first-place championship.

Additionally, the team won the North Dakota Roughrider District Congress Sweepstakes Award. This is the second consecutive year that Sheyenne has claimed this award and a state championship.

At the individual level, Jonah Follingstad earned first place in the House VI division, Christine Nwaigwe earned first place in the House II division, and Reagan Koppelman was voted Presiding Officer for House V division.

Keona Munowenyu qualified in the North Dakota Roughrider Senate and Grace Widjaja qualified in the North Dakota Roughrider House for the National Speech & Debate Association’s national tournament. Both individuals will attend the national tournament in Louisville, Kentucky, in June.

The Sheyenne High School team is coached by Kelsey Johnson and Krista Hulderman.

national tournament qualifiers Individual Champions

 sweepstake winners state student congress team



Stephanie Hansen
(701) 499-1073