Return to Headlines

Aamot Receives District's Classified Staff of the Year Award

West Fargo, ND – (April 12th, 2023) – Surrounded by colleagues, friends, and family at a surprise ceremony this morning, a West Fargo Public Schools’ paraprofessional was honored with the district’s prestigious staff award. Ellen Aamot, a paraprofessional at West Fargo High School, was awarded the 2023 – 2024 Classified Staff of the Year Award.

Ms. Aamot has worked for WFPS since 2000 as a paraprofessional helping learners with cognitive disabilities at West Fargo High School. Aamot holds a Bachelor of Science degree with a major in education from the University of North Dakota. As this year’s award winner, Ms. Aamot was described in her nomination as “deeply caring for the students she serves and is often thinking about ways to help them even in her off hours at home..”

As the Classified Staff of the Year honoree, Ms. Aamot receives a crystal apple, flowers, a gift from the district and the School Board, and a $500 check from the West Fargo Educational Foundation. Additionally, she will be an honoree at the district’s recognition party on Monday, May 22 at Horace High School.

Every year, West Fargo Public Schools recognizes three district employees with a Staff of the Year Award. Nominees for the award are nominated by colleagues, students, parents, and/or community members through a letter of support highlighting the nominee’s commitment to education, professional development, and dedication to the West Fargo community. Each nominee’s supervisor is then asked to provide a letter indicating their support, and wishes, for the nominee to be selected as the award’s recipient. The program’s selection committee, comprised of community leaders, School Board members, past award recipients, retired and current administrators, selects one nominee to receive the Professional/Licensed Staff of the Year Award, one nominee to receive the Classified Staff of the Year Award, and one nominee to receive the Administrative Staff of the Year Award.
Award winners are announced each spring at a surprise announcement ceremony and are recognized at the district’s annual recognition party.

Travis Gavin