Return to Headlines

Arellano Receives District's Classified Staff of the Year Award

West Fargo, ND – (April 18th, 2024) – Surrounded by colleagues, friends, and family at a surprise ceremony this morning, a West Fargo Public Schools’ paraprofessional was honored with the district’s prestigious staff award. Caroline Arellano, a paraprofessional at Osgood Elementary School, was awarded the 2024 – 2025 Classified Staff of the Year Award.

Ms. Arellano has worked for WFPS since 2019 and currently works as a paraprofessional helping learners with at Osgood Elementary School. Arellano holds an associate’s degree with a major in Health Information Technology from Rasmussen College. As this year’s award winner, it was said of Ms. Arellano that “There is not a situation that you could put Carrie into that she wouldn't meet head on and succeed in. She truly loves her job and her students. There is not a person who has met Carrie that does not enjoy working with her...”

As the Classified Staff of the Year honoree, Ms. Arellano receives a crystal apple, flowers, a gift from the district and the School Board, and a $500 check from the West Fargo Educational Foundation. 

Every year, West Fargo Public Schools recognizes three district employees with a Staff of the Year Award. Nominees for the award are nominated by colleagues, students, parents, and/or community members through a letter of support highlighting the nominee’s commitment to education, professional development, and dedication to the West Fargo community. Each nominee’s supervisor is then asked to provide a letter indicating their support, and wishes, for the nominee to be selected as the award’s recipient. The program’s selection committee, comprised of community leaders, School Board members, past award recipients, retired and current administrators, selects one nominee to receive the Professional/Licensed Staff of the Year Award, one nominee to receive the Classified Staff of the Year Award, and one nominee to receive the Administrative Staff of the Year Award.
Award winners are announced each spring at a surprise announcement ceremony.

Travis Gavin