Return to Headlines

Sheyenne High School Student Congress Claims Several Honors

West Fargo, ND – (November 14, 2022) – Sheyenne High School’s Student Congress returned from the North Dakota High School Activities Association’s State Student Congress with a third-place overall finish.
At the individual level, Senior Rachel Huynh was voted by her peers to serve as the Presiding Officer in House III at the 2022 State Student Congress tournament. Sophomore Mithul Sathish was named the House III Champion at the 2022 State Student Congress tournament. Both Rachel and Mithul are first-year Student Congress members.
Other individual placers were: Senior Asiya Gedi - 7th Place Senate, Sophomore Jonah Follingstad - 3rd Place House I, Sophomore Hosna Dawlaty - Runner-Up House II, Freshman Ofure Itua - 6th Place House II, Freshman Neha Kamalakannan - 3rd Place House IV, 8th Grader Abhi Kotala - Runner-Up House V, 8th Grader Leo Nyberg - 5th Place House V, Freshman Elena Weng - 4th Place House VI, 8th Grader Norah Casas - 6th Place House VI
Additionally, six Sheyenne students competed at the ND Roughrider National Qualifying Congressional Debate Tournament held at the Mandan Baymont Inn and Suites. Sophomore Reagan Koppelman was voted by his peers to serve as the Presiding Officer in the Senate for the final session. Sophomore Mithul Sathish is the first alternate in the House for the National Tournament held in June.

The Sheyenne High School team is coached by Kelsey Johnson and Krista Hulderman.


Travis Gavin