Return to Headlines

Sheyenne High School English Teacher Receives Literary Scholarship

West Fargo, ND – (September 19, 2023) – West Fargo Public Schools is proud to announce that Mallory Morris has been awarded the 2023 Linda S. Christenson Literary Scholarship by the North Dakota Council of Teachers of English. In order to receive the Linda S. Christenson Literary Scholarship, a nominee must be an English Language Arts teacher in their first two years of teaching who is passionate about teaching. The teacher must be employed by a North Dakota school. Any teacher within their first two years of teaching is eligible for this esteemed scholarship.

In her nomination letter it was said of Morris that “From her passion to learn in the English teaching profession to her enthusiasm to try new things in her classroom, Mallory displays all of the best traits of a new teacher. Mallory got right out of student teaching and went into full-time teaching English and takes sincere focus and attention to keep up with the pace.”

The North Dakota Council of Teachers of English is a professional organization for individuals who are genuinely concerned with the development of the English language. The group strives to support the state standards and benchmarks and improve the quality of English instruction at all levels.

Travis Gavin