Sheyenne High School

  • Sheyenne High School hopes to prepare students to exhibit global and community awareness, communication and technological literacy, the ability to access and evaluate information, an appreciation of the humanities, respect for the individual, and self-knowledge. The ultimate purpose of all education is to make the students their own teachers. These are accomplished through a balance of excellent broad-based academic, vocational, co-curricular programs that in themselves demonstrate accountability and flexibility necessary to meet the demands of today's world.


    Sheyenne High School has not always been a high school. The original building was built in 2007 to serve as a ninth-grade center for all of the district’s ninth grade students. The building was expanded in 2013 to include additional classrooms and began to house south side tenth graders. Another expansion was added in 2014 to include two gymnasiums, locker rooms, athletic space, music classrooms, and a theater. For the first time in its existence, Sheyenne High School housed students in ninth through twelfth grade for the 2015-2016 school year. The school’s athletic field was upgraded to synthetic turf in 2019. The building shares a 75-acre site in southern West Fargo with Liberty Middle School and has a preferred capacity of 1,395 and a maximum capacity of 1,550.

    Sheyenne High School is home to the Sheyenne High Mustangs. The school name is in honor of its proximity to Sheyenne Street, a major thoroughfare of West Fargo. The mustang mascot was selected to honor the Horace community (a predominant population of Sheyenne High School until the opening of the Hawk feeder-system in 2020) as the mustang was the mascot for Horace Public School’s high school when the district existed up until the 1960s.

    The building’s principals have included: Greg Grooters (2007 – 2016), Pamela Cronin (2016 – 2020), Vincent Williams (2020 – 2021), Ryan Salisbury (2021 - present).

Administrative Staff


    Mr. Ryan Salisbury


    Ms. Jana Oistad
    Mr. Seth Lachowitzer
    Mr. Ryan Bodell


    Mrs. Jessica Steiner


    Mr. James Moe


    Ms. Jessi Raile
    Mrs. Emily Eggiman
    Mrs. Krystal Haugen
    Mrs. Erin Berget
    Ms. Nicole Maurer