South Elementary School

  • South Elementary School provides an age-appropriate curriculum for literacy, math, science, and social studies. Students participate in physical education, music, art, and library on a regular basis. The school follows the West Fargo Elementary Behavior Plan, which introduces social skills and expectations, as well as implementing a building-wide positive reinforcement behavior plan.


    South Elementary School was built in 1952. It received four separate additions (1956, 1961, 1983, 2003) and received a renovation in 2019 as part of the 2018 bond referendum. The building occupies a six-acre site in northern West Fargo and has a preferred capacity of 396 and a maximum capacity of 528.

    The school sits south of the site of the district's first elementary school, North, hence its name. North was the district's first brick and mortar school and stood at the site of the current Leidal Education Center; it was razed in 2000 and remains the only brick and mortar building the district has torn down.

    South Elementary School is home to the South Stars. The school belongs to the Packer feeder-system; students move on to Cheney Middle School and West Fargo High School.

    The building’s principals have included: Jim Claypool, Dean Hall, Loren Kersting (1992 - 2017), Jody Sjolin-Nelson (2017 - present).